We Proudly Serve Accident Victims Injured Across The State of Texas
After suffering injuries in an accident, it’s unlikely you’ll be able to go back to work right immediately, especially if your injuries are severe. Because most injury victims are unable to do the duties of their job while they recover, they frequently miss out on some earnings. This period of unemployment can be harmful to both their future and daily life for those who have been affected by it.
This is why Texas law allows victims to recoup the money they would have earned if they had been able to work. Lost wages are a type of compensation that is frequently neglected and misunderstood. It’s critical for accident victims to understand how missed income might affect the amount of compensation they may receive in a personal injury claim. Please contact Texas Personal Injury Lawyers to ensure that you can prove all of the damages including lost wages in your injury case. Our firm offers a free case evaluation.
What’s Covered Under Lost Wages?
- Hourly Wages
- Hourly Wages
To get started, total up your missed time and multiply it by your hourly rate. For example, if you lose 10 days of pay, you would add up how many hours you work each day, multiply that number by your hourly rate, and then count up to ten lost days of work. If a worker misses 10 days of work, they lose $20 per hour. If they work 8 hours each day, their missed hourly earnings are $20 X 8 X 10 = $1600.
If you work overtime on a regular basis, you may include missed time in your claim. Seasonal workers who frequently work overtime during a certain period of the year, such as summer resort employees or accountants, are included. A past pay stub is the most effective method to demonstrate that you work these long hours on a regular basis.
If you miss out on bonuses as a result of an accident, you may be entitled to compensation for this. Showing evidence of previous bonuses might be required to demonstrate lost bonuses. You can also ask your employer to make a report about how other people like you earn bonuses and what additional money you’re losing out on.
- Sick Days
- Sick Days
Victims are frequently unable to use their sick days in order to heal from their injuries. You’d have been able to use those sick days at any time if it weren’t for the injuries. You are entitled to compensation for a sick day’s worth of pay.
- Vacation Days
- Vacation Days
You may also find that you need to use your vacation days to recuperate from your injuries. You would have been able to save those days for a real trip if you hadn’t been injured. You can ask the person who caused the accident to reimburse you for the value of a lost holiday day.
You may lose out on benefits if you don’t finish your workload. You could have a corporate phone. The firm might give you access to a vehicle or a gym membership, among other things. In your claim for missed pay, you can deduct the worth of these items.
Tips are accounted for in a lost wages claim. However, if you’re not used to reporting your tips, you won’t be able to recoup the money. You must be able to show that you report your tips on your taxes or deposit them in your bank account on a regular basis.
How Do I Prove My Lost Wages?
The most convincing proof of lost income is from your employer. They may simply describe your missed wages by writing a letter or providing further evidence for verification. The following information should be included in the letter sent by your employer to validate your missing earnings.
- Date hired
- A statement that you were employed at the time of the incident
- Number of hours you usually work in a week
- Rate of pay
- Typical overtime hours
- Standard overtime rate of pay
- Days or hours of work missed
- Lost perks
- Bonus structure
You may also present evidence of your lost wages, such as pay stubs, bank statements, and tax returns, in addition to a letter from your employer. Depending on the type of loss you suffered and what you’re claiming, you’ll need a different combination.
When you’re self-employed, proving your lost income is somewhat more difficult. It’s still possible, however. You may claim missed self-employment income in the same way as a person who works for wages. However, you’ll need to produce business documents to verify what your earnings might have been.
In cases of self-employment, it’s possible that you’ll need to hire an accountant to make sense of your calculations. If you’re attempting to recoup lost self-employment revenue, it’s crucial to provide solid evidence.
Lost Wages Vs Lost Earnings Potential
The difference between lost wages and missed earnings potential has to do with how one calculates the amount of money that has been lost. Lost income is the sum of money that you have actually lost because of the accident. The work you might lose in the future is considered when calculating lost earnings potential.
It might imply missed chances, losses of promotions, and the ability to work in the future. You could need a forensic accountant to explain how you arrived at your claim for lost earnings potential. Claiming a firm’s lost earnings potential is usually more demanding, but it is feasible with the appropriate evidence.
What About Employment Insurance And Disability?
You must be able to work and look for a job in order to claim unemployment benefits. You are not available to work because of a personal injury in the scenario of lost income as a result of an accident.
However, you may be able to file a claim for disability. In addition, if not earning enough work credits to qualify for unemployment meant that you lost your job, you can include the loss of employment as part of your claim for wages. This is why, if you believe that you have a case, it’s critical to contact Texas Personal Injury Lawyers immediately for a free consultation about your situation.
Loss of income is not generally multiplied for non-economic damages reasons. When computing pain and suffering, you don’t usually multiply your lost earnings to arrive at the figure.
Wages lost as a result of an injury are taxable. However, it might be difficult since the majority of personal injury settlements aren’t itemized. To ensure you’re paying taxes on your accident compensation according to the right procedure, work with your lawyer and accountant. Finally, in most situations, a two-year statute of limitations applies. In some circumstances, it may be even shorter, implying you should act quickly to safeguard your legal rights after an accident.
Working With Texas Personal Injury Lawyers
Although the loss of wages is an important component of obtaining appropriate compensation for your losses following an accident, it may be tough to demonstrate the entire amount. Because of the specialized nature of demonstrating missed pay, it is frequently considerably more technical and difficult than other sorts of losses. Many accident victims will simply leave lost income off their claim because of the several obstacles involved in proving it.
The greatest approach to ensure that you can prove all of the losses in your injury claim, including lost income, is to hire Texas Personal Injury Lawyers. We will assist you in assessing your case and determining how to obtain the highest possible compensation. We will work with you to make sure you have all of the documentation required to include lost wages in your claim for compensation. A knowledgeable attorney from Texas Personal Injury Lawyers is your greatest asset in obtaining the financial assistance you require to fully recover.
Call us at (888) 997-2148 now for you free consultation.
We take cases on a contingency fee basis and there are no costs unless we win, and the consultation is completely FREE. Contact us to learn what Texas Personal Injury Lawyers can accomplish for you.